You are currently viewing our Archived Site. Visit to view our updated content

University of Nairobi

Message from the Chairman

The Department of Biochemistry was established in the nineteen seventies.  It is physically located in the College of Biological and Physical Sciences, Chiromo Campus on Riverside Drive.

Administratively, however, the department is under the School of Medicine, College of health Sciences, located at the Kenyatta National Hospital campus.

The department is certainly one of the largest departments in the University. The department offers courses to undergraduate students in six schools and two faculties namely: School of Medicine, School of Pharmacy, School of Dental Sciences, School of Physical Sciences, School of Biological Sciences, School of Nursing, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Faculty of Agriculture. As such the department interacts administratively with three Colleges: College of Health Sciences, College of Biological and physical Sciences and College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences.

The department offers a fully fledged degree programme in Biochemistry within the School of Medicine.

This Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry programme has three options namely; Medical Biochemistry, Nutritional Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. This programme has already graduated students in the last two academic years.  In addition, the department offers a postgraduate programme by course work and thesis leading to Master of Science degree in Biochemistry.

The department also offers other postgraduate service courses to M.Med. (Psychiatry), M.Med. (Paediatry), M.Sc. (Animal Production) and M.Sc. (Crop Science).

The department has highly qualified professors and lecturers who are committed to producing quality teaching, research and consultancy services to Kenyans in the areas of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology and related disciplines.

Head of Department,