You are currently viewing our Archived Site. Visit to view our updated content

University of Nairobi

A world-class university committed to scholarly excellence

A-Z List of UON Departmets
a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z 

Home > Academics > School Of Dental Sciences

School Of Dental Sciences

History Of The School

The School of Dental Sciences started from a humble beginning in 1974 as a Department (The Department of Dental Surgery) in the Faculty of Medicine. The first group of eighteen (18) students was admitted in 1974 to pursue the course leading to the degree of Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) of the University of Nairobi . To facilitate its inception and growth, the Department acquired and renovated the then building structures for the former Princess Elizabeth Maternity in 1977 with financial and material support from the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany. The aim was to have a university teaching dental hospital. Initially, the Department had only nine (9) dental units, but these soon grew to fifty-two (52) distributed in various clinics.

Upon the restructuring of of the University in 2005, the then Faculty of Dental Sciences assumed its present name as a school.