You are currently viewing our Archived Site. Visit to view our updated content

University of Nairobi

A world-class university committed to scholarly excellence

A-Z List of UON Departmets
a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z 

Home > Academics > Kenya Science Campus

Kenya Science Campus


Kenya Science Campus is the former Kenya Science Teachers College (KSTC).  It was established in 1965 through partnership between the Government of the Republic of Kenya and the Swedish Government.  The Campus is situated in Nairobi, along Ngong’ Road, approximately 8 km from the City center.  The KSTC initially trained S1 teachers to teach Sciences and Technical Education (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Industrial Education) in Secondary Schools.  From 1980, it started training Diploma in Science Education graduates in the same science subjects.  In the 2002, the College introduced Computer Science as a main teaching subject alongside the Sciences.  A basic ICT course was also introduced as a support subject for all students admitted in the college.  To date, over 6,700 graduates have been produced.  The Ministry of Education Diploma curriculum will be terminated in 2009 when the present batch of students graduate.  The Kenya Science Campus is currently reviewing the Diploma syllabus and intends to introduce the University of Nairobi Senate approved one by the end of 2009.

The KSTC was elevated to become a Campus of the University of Nairobi following recommendations by the Public University Inspection Board which were accepted by the Government of Kenya for subsequent implementation.  It was officially handed over to the University on October 9th 2007 and the first batch of 186 Bachelor of Education Science students was admitted in on October 15th 2007.