You are currently viewing our Archived Site. Visit to view our updated content

University of Nairobi

A world-class university committed to scholarly excellence

A-Z List of UON Departmets
a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z 

Home > Academics > School Of Medicine

School Of Medicine

History Of The School

The School started on 3rd July 1967 with 30 students and this year 2011 has a population of 2,238 undergraduate and postgraduate students taught in Chiromo and Kenyatta National Hospital campuses. The School has 13 departments and five thematic units with a vibrant faculty of 239 members of Academic Staff specialized in various fields.

Besides training, research and health policy formulation, it offers specialized service to patients in Kenyatta National Teaching and Referral Hospital a 1,800 bed level 6 Hospital, the largest in the region.The School also teaches and offers services to Mathari Hospital which has 14 wards and an admission capacity of 700 patients.