Our Vision

A world-class university committed to scholarly excellence


University of Nairobi is the oldest university in Kenya and has its origins in the
main campus
Royal Technical College of East Africa (RTCEA), which was established in 1956 to offer education and training in technology and business. In 1960 RTCEA as The Royal College, Nairobi, became affiliated to the University of London as a constituent college, and thereby began to offer degrees of the University of London for some of its academic programmes. In 1963, the Royal College became the University College, Nairobi, as part of the newly established University of East Africa. Subsequently the University of Nairobi was established out of the University College, Nairobi in 1970.

From the first 215 students who registered to study in the Royal Technical College of East Africa when it opened its doors to students for the first time on 23rd April 1956, there are today over 36,000 students enrolled in the University of Nairobi. Of this enrolment, 16,000 are Government sponsored while another 20,000 are privately sponsored.


Today the University of Nairobi has the largest concentration of scholars in the country. The University has been, and continues to be a centre for intellectual life, a locus of research activity extending the boundaries of knowledge, a resource for professional development, and a key player in the growing global network of scholarship. The University has a great variety of disciplines within its wide array of academic programmes. These disciplines include: humanities and social sciences; natural and mathematical sciences; engineering and the built environment; arts and design; computing and informatics; law and business studies; medicine and health sciences; agriculture and food sciences; veterinary and animal sciences; and education. The programmes in these disciplines are backed up by an ever-expanding open learning facility. The diversity encourages shared ideas across disciplines and promotes multidisciplinary endeavours. The programmes are offered through six colleges, three faculties, six institutes, seventeen schools and sixty seven teaching departments.


Our Mission

To provide quality university education and training and to embody the aspirations of the Kenyan people and the global community through creation, preservation, integration, transmission and utilization of knowledge